First BBC Music Awards


The BBC Music Awards are kicking off in London, with One Direction, Sam Smith and Ed Sheeran all due to take the stage.

Some of the artists will be accompanied by the BBC Concert Orchestra, while others will perform one-off duets.

The inaugural ceremony is being hosted by Fearne Cotton and Chris Evans, and broadcast live around the world.

Only one prize – song of the year – is open to a public vote, with nominees including Clean Bandit and Pharrell.

The 10 nominees are:

  • Rather Be – Clean Bandit ft Jess Glynne
  • A Sky Full Of Stars – Coldplay
  • Sing – Ed Sheeran
  • Ghost – Ella Henderson
  • Budapest – George Ezra
  • Hideaway – Kiesza
  • Royals – Lorde
  • Am I Wrong – Nico & Vinz
  • Happy – Pharrell
  • Money On My Mind – Sam Smith

The shortlisted tracks have had the most airplay across the BBC’s music radio and television networks over the past 12 months.

Three other prizes will be awarded on the night, including best artist, best international artist and BBC Introducing act of the year, which highlights an up-and-coming band discovered by programmes on the BBC’s local radio network.



Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You may also like

Hot News